Pixar’s ‘Up’ Wins the Annie for Best Feature

7 Feb 2010 06:30 Africa/Lagos

Pixar’s ‘Up’ Wins the Annie for Best Feature

Disney, DreamWorks Top List of Winners at 37th Annual Annie Awards

LOS ANGELES, Feb. 7 /PRNewswire/ — Pixar Animation Studio’s Up wins the Best Animated Feature honor at the 37th Annual Annie Awards held at UCLA’s Royce Hall on Saturday, Feb. 6. Walt Disney Animation Studios won six Annies overall including three for its feature The Princess and the Frog and three for its television production Prep and Landing. DreamWorks Animation won five Annies including Best Television Production for Children and Directing/TV for The Penguins of Madagascar, Character Animation/TV and Storyboarding/Feature for Monsters vs. Aliens and Storyboarding/TV for Merry Madagascar. A complete list of winners can be viewed at the Annie Award’s official website www.annieawards.org. The Annie Awards ceremony will be webcast on the Annies website beginning Tuesday, February 9, 2010.

Best Home Entertainment Production went to 20th Century Fox’s Futurama: Into the Wild Green Yonder; Best Animated Short Subject went to ShadowMachine’s Robot Chicken: Star Wars 2.5; Acme Filmworks won Best Animated Television Commercial for Spanish Lottery ‘Deportees’; Best Animated Television Production went to Disney’s Prep and Landing; and Best Animated Television Production for Children went to DreamWorks’ The Penguins of Madagascar.

The Winsor McCay award was given to three industry leaders – Tim Burton, Jeffrey Katzenberg and Bruce Timm. Named in honor of the prolific animator, Winsor McCay, this award stands as one of the highest honors given to an individual in the animation industry in recognition for career contributions to the art of animation. Tim Burton accepted his Winsor via video. Emmy and Golden Globe-winning actor, director, producer and one of pop culture’s most recognizable figures, William Shatner, handled hosting duties this year and was joined on stage by a lively mix of animation luminaries, celebrity presenters and comedic talent including animation legend June Foray, actors Seth Green, John Leguizamo, Sean Astin and industry notables Pete Docter, Ed Catmull and Henry Selick. A special tribute to the late Roy Disney was introduced by Don Hahn.

“ASIFA-Hollywood congratulates all of the Annie Award winners,” said ASIFA-Hollywood President Antran Manoogian. “With so many outstanding animated productions and talented artists vying for an Annie, it made it another difficult year to select the best in our industry.”

Often a predictor of the annual Academy Award for Best Animated Feature, the Annie Awards recognize the year’s best animated features, television productions, commercials, short subjects and outstanding individual achievements in the field of animation. Entries submitted for consideration were from productions that originally aired, were exhibited in an animation festival, or commercially released between January 1, 2009 and December 31, 2009.

Created in 1972 by veteran voice talent June Foray, the Annie Awards have grown in scope and stature for the past three decades, and is considered the highest and most prestigious honor given in animation by the animation industry. Today ASIFA-Hollywood, the largest chapter of the international organization ASIFA, supports a range of animation activities and preservation efforts through its membership. Current initiatives include the Animation Archive, animation film preservation, special events, classes and screenings.

CONTACT: Gretchen Houser, Houser PR
P: 562-235-0991
E: Gretchen@houserpr.com

Source: ASIFA-Hollywood

CONTACT: Gretchen Houser of Houser PR for ASIFA-Hollywood,
+1-562-235-0991, or Gretchen@houserpr.com

Web Site: http://www.annieawards.org/

Leave a Reply