Winners Announced: British Independent Film Awards

The nominations are below, with the winner in red.

Best British Independent Film   

Best Director 

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director) 

Best Screenplay 

Best Actress 

Best Actor 

Best Supporting Actress

Best Supporting Actor

Most Promising Newcomer

Best Achievement In Production

Best Technical Achievement

Best Documentary

Best British Short

Best International Independent Film

The Raindance Award



  • The Richard Harris Award
    (for outstanding contribution by an actor to British Film)
  • – Julie Walters
  • The Variety Award
  • – Paul Greengrass
  • The Special Jury Prize 
  • Sixteen Films and friends AKA Team Loach

The Jury:

Jury Chair – Penny Woolcock (Director), Antonia Campbell-Hughes (Actress), Art Malik (Actor), Ate de Jong (Director), Bart Layton (Director), James Floyd (Actor),  Jill McCullough (Dialect Coach), Julien Temple (Director), Liza Marshall (Producer), MyAnna Buring (Actress), Natascha McElhone (Actress), Pippa Harris (Producer), Roland Gift (Musician), Sally El Hosaini (Director), Sandy Powell (Costume Designer), Steve Hamilton Shaw (Producer).