We the Nollywood family lost a rare Gem, who contributed in no small measure to the growth and development of the Nigerian film industry in soaps and movies as well.  Her wealth of experience will surely be missed and most of all her immediate family will miss her a lot. She will always be remembered of the great legacy she left behind.Rest In the Bosom of our Lord.Adieu Amaka.

2014 Cannes L’Atelier Projects Revealed – Nigerian Filmmaker Newton I. Aduaka’s ‘Oil On Water’ Makes The Cut

News By Tambay A. Obenson

Newton I. Aduaka

The Cinefondation’s Atelier hosts its tenth edition this year and will invite to the Festival de Cannes 15 directors whose projects have been considered particularly promising. Together with their producers, they will be able to meet potential partners, a necessary step to finish their projects and start the making of their films.

L’Atelier provides its participants access to international co-productions, thus accelerating the film’s completion.

The Cinefondation’s Atelier was created in 2005 to stimulate creative filmmaking and encourage emergence new and diverse filmmaker voices. So far, out of 141 projects, 85 have been released in theaters and 44 are currently in pre-production.

For L’Atelier’s 10th edition, 15 projects from 15 countries have been selected, ranging from upstarts to veteran directors.

Of note, Nigerian filmmaker Newton I. Aduaka’s Oil On Water made the cut of 15.

Aduak’s last film, the demanding and experimental One Man Show, was a Critics Prize winner at last year’s FESPACO.

More details on his latest, Oil On Water to come From May 16-22, at Cannes, L’Atelier will arrange meetings with the directors for film industry professionals interested in investing in their projects.

The full list of Atelier selections follows below:

Invisible, Pablo Giorgelli (Argentina)

Territoria, Nora Martirosyan (Armenia)

Tabija, Igor Drljača (Bosnia)

Saudade, Antonio Méndez Esparza (Brazil)

Ville-Marie, Guy Édoin (Canada)

In the Shade of the Trees, Matías Rojas Valencia (Chile)

Ce sentiment de l’été, Mikhaël Hers (France)

Aliyushka, Adilkhan Yerzhanov (Kazakhstan)

The Darkness, Daniel Castro Zimbrón (Mexico)

White Sun, Deepak Rauniyar (Nepal)

To All Naked Men, Bassam Chekhes (Neth/Syria)

Oil on Water, Newton I. Aduaka (Nigeria)

Dogs, Bogdan Mirică (Romania)

A Yellow Bird, K. Rajagopal (Singapore)

Ruta salvatge, Marc Recha (Spain)